~The state of Hawaii consists of eight main islands: Niihau, Kauai, Oahu, Maui, Molokai, Lanai, Kahoolawe and the Big Island of Hawaii.

~ Hawaii is the most isolated population center on the face of the earth. Hawaii is 2,390 miles from California; 3,850 miles from Japan; 4,900 miles from China; and 5,280 miles from the Philippines.

~Hawaii is the only state that grows coffee.

~More than one-third of the world’s commercial supply of pineapples comes from Hawaii.

~There are only 12 letters in the Hawaiian alphabet. * Vowels: A, E, I, O, U * Consonants: H, K, L, M, N, P, W

~From east to west Hawaii is the widest state in the United States.

~The Hawaiian Islands are the projecting tops of the biggest mountain range in the world.

~Honolulu’s zenith star, (the star that rises directly above it) is Arcturus. The Hawaiians called it Hokule’a. (Hoe koo lay uh.)

~Under-sea volcanoes created Hawaii.

By daryl

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *